Telephone 01494 783 938

Be prepared for bad weather! – Flags should be taken down if winds exceed Beaufort scale 6 (31 mph or 27 knots) Read more here 

Flag of Tanzania - A Brief History

Where in the world?
The current flag is a mix of the flag of Tanganyika and Zanzibar.
Technical Specifications
Adopted 30th June 1964
Proportion 2:3
Design A green and blue triangle separated by a black yellow-edged diagonal band.
Brief History

Under Omani rule the Sultanates of Zanzibar would fly a simple plain red flag. In 1891 the Germans took over Tanganyika and merged it with Burundi and Rwanda to created German East Africa. The flag flown during this period was a white field with a black cross and the top left portion was red with five five-pointed stars.

When the German Empire collapsed after World war One Britain took over control of Tanganyika and a British Red Ensign was adopted with a white circle that featured a giraffe. In 1951 Tanganyika became a sovereign state and a new flag was adopted that was a green and black with yellow-bordered stripes.

When Zanzibar gained independence from the British Empire in 1963 a new flag was adopted that added a green circle and two yellow cloves added to a plain red field. When the area became the People’s Republic of Zanzibar and Pemba in January 1964 a new black-yellow-blue horizontal tricolour was adopted.

In the same month the flag was changed again to a blue-black-green horizontal tricolour. When Zanzibar merged with Tanganyika, to crated Tanzania, the new flag adopted elements of the two previous flags. The final flag was a green and blue bicolour with a diagonal black bar with a yellow-border. The green represents the vegetation, black represents the people, blue is the ocean and yellow is the riches.

In 2005 to celebrate Zanzibar being a semi-autonomous part of Tanzania a new flag was adopted for that region. It is the previous blue-black-green horizontal tricolour of the People’s Republic of Zanzibar and Pemba with the flag of Tanzania in the top left hand corner.

The Coat of Arms of Tanzania

The Coat of Arms of Tanzania was adopted in 1961. The flag is a Shield split into four parts with a spear running through each segment. The top segment is a burning torch on a yellow background, the next portion is the national flag, the red portion has crossed axe and hoe and the final portion are red and blue wavy lines.

At either side of the shield are elephant tusks and a man on the left and woman on the right. Below is the motto “FREEDOM AND UNITY”.

The Presidential Standard of Tanzania

The Presidential Standard of Tanzania is a green field with blue border and the coat of arms at the centre.